Facebook Sucks

Facebook sucks.  Let’s talk about why.

For one: Facebook is biased towards brevity.  This is a big one.  The first one.  What I noticed most about FB the last time I was trapped in its throes was how unfulfilling it was.  Why so?  Because I am a sucker for an audience, and I wasn’t getting that audience from the biggest social network that exists.  When I talk I like to talk a lot.  I like to create drama, something that people can fall into for a short bit and forget parts of themselves for just a short time.  That’s hard to do in 140 characters or less.  However, I like to tell myself that I have a sense of my audience.  When I made posts I knew that people didn’t want to read a dissertation.  That’s fine and all, but that train of thought had to go somewhere, and it did: into my posts.  I did not post lightly, friends.  It took a while, and finally, I started to speak.

But no comments.

Why no comments?  I put real thought into this.  Appreciate.

Or actually,

Why no comments?  I kind of made love to this a little bit.  This is part of me.

Facebook is a continual fucking rejection of your internal monologue.  Devote real and extended thought towards reflecting on your experience and then try sharing that.  It’s hard.  People will only listen, read, pay attention for so long before their focus is back on themselves, and for that reason your posts on FB need to be brief.  “Grab my attention fast before something else does!” is the mindset that the Internet at large creates in us, and when we bring that mindset to our interactions with our tangible public, our reality, the effect is slightly soul destroying.

This brings us to our next point.

Number 2: Facebook is isolating.  Human beings are social creatures.  We thrive in numbers.  History has shown this time and again, but now suddenly, the rules that govern our social interactions no longer apply.  Today I can interact with you completely anonymously.  I can look at photos of you, your spouse, your relatives and be as judgmental as I want with no repercussions. In another age, if I wanted to pass judgment in the way that I have become accustomed to, I would have to be willing to step outside to do so.  Facebook creates bravery where it shouldn’t.  It gives us license to discount others, and more than that, it creates a binary between your consciousness and everyone else’s.

Number 3: Facebook is a party with everyone you know, and who wants to go to that?  You’re a certain you when you hang with your college buds.  You’re a different you when you hang with your coworkers at a Friday afternoon happy hour.  You’re yet a third you when catching mom up on your day to day.  All those yous are still genuinely you, even if they are drastically different from each other.  At the Facebook party, we are forced into acting like some awkward hybrid of all three while we try to get surreptitiously drunk.  The perfect status update has something for everyone, right?

But the reality is that when we are forced to observe all those different versions of ourselves in one venue, then one does not come to the forefront; rather, all versions of “us” are cheapened.  What develops is a nagging awareness of the binary interpretation of reality.  There is what happens in my head, and there is what happens in the heads of others.  Increasingly, it is a party we are growing weary of.  It may sound bad, but the truth is that we tend to define ourselves by those other individuals with which we associate.  Friends are a genuine reflection of ourselves.  Why else were we drawn to these people?  Some might say we chose these friends, that we are exerting control over our own reality; others might say that our reality is exerting control over us, that our dispositions landed us in this particular company.  In either case, Facebook makes the dichotomy painfully apparent

Lord there’s more, but that’s all I have in me at the moment.

Leave a Reply

